2017 Marshall M. Hicks Scholarship drawing

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

At a Michigan State Utility Workers Council Meeting held on May 13, 2017, five blind drawings were conducted for the 2016 Marshall M. Hicks Scholarships, with the winners being:  Alayna Van Wert, daughter of Michael Van Wert, Local 144-Bay City; Xavier Austin, son of Mario Austin, Local 388-Campbell; Noah Rahall (pictured), son of Chuck Rahall, Local 123-Lansing; Jacob Boyce, son of Brad Hallock, Local 254-Macomb; and Brandon Freudenstein, son of Paul Freudenstein, Local 388-Campbell.

Each recipient has received a one-time payment in the amount of $1,000. They will be honored at the next Council Meeting scheduled for September 8, 2017 at the Grand Traverse Resort.

This year's students are the 40th through the 45th recipients to the scholarships in honor of the late Marshall M. Hicks, who was the past National UWUA President and Secretary-Treasurer, and President of the MSUWC. The first scholarships were awarded in 1998.

The MSUWC would like to congratulate all the winners on their achievements and we wish them the best as they go forward to pursue their education and careers.

Site union-made by:
Union built by Prometheus Labor Prometheus Labor Union Websites