2021 Marshall M. Hicks scholarship award winners

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

At a Michigan State Utility Workers Council Board Meeting held on May 14, 2021, five blind drawings were conducted for the 2021 Marshall M. Hicks Scholarships, with the winners being: Chelsea Selweski, daughter of Barry Selweski, Local 254-Macomb; Hannah Rios, daughter of Frank Rios, Local 129-Alma; Emma McTaggart, daughter of Josh McTaggart, Local 347-Traverse City; Kaitlyn Tucker, daughter of Scott Tucker, Local 388-Campbell; and Adam MacLeod, son of Steven MacLeod, Local 388-Campbell.

Each recipient has received a one-time payment in the amount of $1,000. 

This year's students are the 56th through the 60th recipients to the scholarships in honor of the late Marshall M. Hicks, who was the past National UWUA President and Secretary-Treasurer, and President of the MSUWC. The first scholarships were awarded in 1998.

The MSUWC would like to congratulate all the winners on their achievements and we wish them the best as they go forward to pursue their education and careers.